Stealth be gone

This has been a phenomenal past week for me here in {Cock}Asia. From whiskey walks with Asia where we discuss our wonders and dreams to successfully #travelingwhiletrans and so much more.  (Also the hilarious photo I discovered on a lunch break that Asia awesome-ified for me.)

I’ve been thinking a LOT about disclosure. As a person who greatly values my trans/gender queer identity, it has taken a toll on my spirit to not talk about my trans experience out in the world. Most specifically in work – I have several jobs, all of which involve some form of youth work. I have had concerns (many of them reinforced through experience) that it was not safe to talk about my trans experience within these places.

In the last week, I have had a youth’s parent reach out for me to mentor them through their child’s gender identity exploration, I have communicated my gender neutral pronoun preference to a community of new coworkers, and in my most restricted job I have opened up a dialogue with my supervisor about my identity. (This supervisor was aware that I am trans from seeing me transition but we never spoke of it).

My trans identity is valuable to myself, my community, the kids and families that I work with and on.  Educating people can be exhausting but this is not how it feels right in this moment. I am merely naming my identity and allowing myself and my peers to explore how these experiences can better serve the work we do together.

It feels big. It is big.

Part of this has been inspired by a flight I took to attend a work event. For the first time, I have not needed a binder (I had top surgery this year) and my ID has my chosen name and male sex marker.

This was also the first time I did not require rigorous screening in TSA  (I was always flagged previously) and I was overwhelmed with sadness about how making my trans identity less visible makes my life easier.

I want to practice the opposite if this. I want to reinforce that my identity and it’s celebration makes the world better. Easier. For myself and others.

And for that, I will be courageous.

to celebrate, here is a little trans humor Asia and I created for you.

in solidarity,

{Cock}Asia

Not actual size

Not actual size

Leave a comment